Finally getting to South America

So getting from Asia to South America is neither cheap nor quick but it had to be done. It was finally time to say goodbye to Asia (for now) and hello to Latin America. However along the way there was a short stopover in Amsterdam and an even shorter one in Madrid. Fair warning: there are two pictures of spiders in this post but I’ve spared you the photo of the cooked cuy (guinea pig) so count yourselves lucky.

 

Ecuador-001
I loved Amsterdam. I arrived on King’s Day. My conclusion? The Dutch are animals
Ecuador-002
Tulips of course
Ecuador-003
Twelve hours in Madrid made for a very quick city tour. Cervantes, Don Quixote and Sancho Panza. The link being the only other time I was in Latin America (the central one) I read Don Quixote
Ecuador-004
First stop in Ecuador was the city of Guayaquil. Most travellers are not big fans of Ecuador’s biggest city but for me it was a perfect introduction and a nice place to decompress for a couple of days. The park by the river was beautiful
Ecuador-005
Plazas! Cathedrals and plazas, in my imagination there is nothing more Latin American than this
Ecuador-006
The interesting thing was that this plaza was populated by more than your standard pigeons
Ecuador-007
The pigeons had to play second fiddle to the dozens of iguanas. The pigeons had to wait their turn in this feeding frenzy
Ecuador-008
Don’t try to tell me these guys aren’t dinosaurs
Ecuador-009
Haven’t you ever seen a man hand feed fried plantain to iguanas in a park before?
Ecuador-010
Some colourful houses on a hillside
Ecuador-011
Guayaquil was the place for a famous meeting between that great man of Latin American independence Simón Bolívar and José de San Martín (who I’ve never heard of; must read more Wikipedia). This rotunda commemorates the event
Ecuador-012
Guayaquil has a nice free museum. This was the first of many many panpipes
Ecuador-013
After getting over my jetlag (I slept 12 hours every night) I made my way to Baños, the adventure capital of Ecuador. I hiked up to this, the so-called “Swing at the End of the World”. I was excited to visit this place as it had been in my mind ever since I’d seen pictures of it. There is a volcano in the background but at this time it was too misty
Ecuador-014
I almost walked headfirst into this little guy but narrowly avoided wrecking his web (I say ‘his’ but I’ve no idea. Aren’t the males of a species generally more colourful?) My first encounter with Ecuadorean wildlife
Ecuador-015
I did canyoning in Baños and the guides took photos but I forgot to get them. Needless to say it was a lot of fun but you’ll have to take my word for it. I journeyed on to Tena, a supposed gateway to the Amazon. It certainly was a dramatic drive down through the highlands to the jungle
Ecuador-015-01
Walking through the jungle. You know it’s jungle when you have stuff growing on other stuff and then stuff growing on the stuff growing on stuff. That was a very technical description.
Ecuador-015-02
Tena is famous for rafting! I was so happy to find a group to do it with. That was seriously exciting and fun. So dramatic when you’re going down rapids and the instructor is shouting “Go! Go! Go!” and cold water splashes about your face, extremely exhilarating
Ecuador-016
I didn’t have time for a true trip out to the deep Amazon (well I had time but I chose to spend it elsewhere) so I settled for a day trip to a nature reserve. I nearly (again) walked right into this spider’s web. However I stopped just in time and then considered myself lucky to see such a colourful and strange, unusual spider. Although not big I thought it must be rare until I almost ran into dozens more along the path. I took to swinging a big stick in front of me to clear the way. That’s one positive of having a guide, they walk into all the webs for you haha.
Ecuador-017
I’d read that this reserve had a tower you could climb. I had imagined a more substantial tower and climbing as in walking up steep steps. But no this was climbing a metal tower. There was a harness but looking back I think I would have probably been better off without it
Ecuador-018
Made the top

 

Another warning: this is a video of a very sweaty me (and smelly but luckily not for you)

 

Ecuador-019
The view was truly incredible
Ecuador-020
A quick trip on the way back to visit the “Monkey Town” of Misahuallí
Ecuador-021
There were indeed monkeys (capuchins I think) in the main square as advertised. It was a pleasure to watch them run around and play fight with each other

 

Next up: Quito and Volcano Valley

2 thoughts on “Finally getting to South America

    1. Yeah it’s a very nice place. I think it was originally made famous by a fantastic National Geographic photo from a time when the volcano was erupting. Now there are swings all over the area!

      Like

Leave a Reply

