Traversing Northern Thailand

On my previous trip to Thailand many moons ago I completely skipped the north due to time constraints. Ever since places like Chiang Mai and Lately Pai have taken on an almost mythical status in my mind as tourist and travellers can’t help but extol the virtues of both. However they were always short on details of why these places were so great apart from describing them as ‘laid back’ ‘relaxed’ and ‘chill’.

NThailand-001
I took the wise decision (if I do say so myself) to visit the ruins early in the morning. This was great for many reasons: few tourists, good temperature and gorgeous golden light
NThailand-002
I rented a bicycle and slowly cycled around, enjoying the sights as I went

NThailand-003NThailand-004

NThailand-005
Hi mum
NThailand-006
Wat Si Chum contains a large Buddha statue enclosed so that from afar Buddha is just peeking out
NThailand-007
Golden hands
NThailand-008
Next was a move up north to Chiang Mai
NThailand-009
The atmosphere is indeed laid back and much more relaxed than Bangkok for example. There was loads of nice temples to visit
NThailand-010
Further north along extremely windy roads was Pai. A place I had only heard of a few weeks previously but haven’t stopped hearing about it since. I would show more photos from Pai but the best thing I saw was the Lod Cave. Otherwise when you ask people what’s good about Pai they just tell you it’s really ‘chill’.
NThailand-011
The cave itself is immense
NThailand-012
At parts a bamboo raft is needed
NThailand-013
Reaching the other side you find a huge opening to the cave
NThailand-014
I also took a one-day cooking course. I would show pictures of the food but I forgot to take them. Anyway I never knew making curry paste took so much time and effort
NThailand-015
I was exhausted afterwards and vowed to just buy curry paste in the future if I ever decided to cook the dishes that I had learnt to make (will never happen)
NThailand-016
Final stop on a short trip across northern Thailand was Chiang Rai. It’s famous for The White Temple. Constructed in modern times and designed by a Thai artist
NThailand-017
In contrast to The White Temple are the Black Houses made by another Thai artist. This one is as suitably creepy as the name might suggest
NThailand-018
They look like temples but are not and contain do not Buddhas but animals skins, skulls, horns and other weird, creepy but wondrous artefacts
NThailand-019
I really enjoyed the place and found it extremely intriguing
NThailand-020
There are around 40 houses in total
NThailand-021
The Golden Clocktower in downtown Chiang Rai

Next up: Laos

2 thoughts on “Traversing Northern Thailand

Leave a Reply

