Dharamsala to Jaipur via disappointment

Dharamsala is famous as the place where the Dalai Lama took up residence in exile after fleeing from Tibet in fear of his life. There was still refugees that make their way into India every year and find themselves in Dharamsala and so the place has a distinct feel compared to other places in India I visited. Yoga courses, meditation courses, spirituality courses and much more abound but for me it was nice to be out of the city and learn something about Tibet. After that I made some bad decisions on arriving in Agra, deciding to visit the Taj Mahal in the morning to beat the queues and have less people. I did beat the queues and there were less people but I also didn’t see the Taj Mahal. Crushed. Reminds me that it’s not enough to see places and tick them off the list but that the experience counts for much more and a lot of that depends on weather, the people you’re with and the choices you make. Those factors all combined (through my fault mostly) in the worst possible way. Anyway I got over it (eventually) and then continued to Jaipur.

jaipur-001
Dharamsala is unsurprisingly full of Buddhist monks and nuns
jaipur-002
There were many devotees from Tibet and at times I had to remind myself I was still in India and not transported to somewhere else
jaipur-003
You can circumambulate the Dalai Lama’s residence and temple complex but there are a lot of prayer wheels to spin
jaipur-004
A visit to the Tibetan Museum was an eye-opener. It shows how the Chinese government invaded and supressed Tibetan culture, language and heritage (and still does)
jaipur-005
Then I travelled a long distance to Agra and was rewarded with this stunning view of the Taj Mahal
jaipur-006
You could see it when up close but even still it was far from being entirely clear
jaipur-007
I was crushingly disappointed by how thick the fog was. I was so excited to see the Taj Mahal, one of the world’s most famous and beautiful buildings that it made it all the worse when I couldn’t
jaipur-008
Of course this was entirely my fault. I knew it was foggy but thought I would visit and it would be mysterious and unique and that hopefully the fog would lift. However I couldn’t even see it clearly when close and the fog was too stubborn. I could have waited another 2 hours but didn’t have the time as I planned to move on
jaipur-009
Fog or no fog you can still appreciate the stonework

jaipur-010

jaipur-011
I should have been more positive and tried to enjoy the experience more but honestly I was too dejected by this point
jaipur-012
Well…maybe next time?
jaipur-013
Agra also has an impressive fort. Incidentally I would have been much better visiting the fort first and then the Taj Mahal but as usual I did things all the wrong way
jaipur-014
Impressive arches
jaipur-015
The red sandstone is highly decorated. By the way Agra Fort is much more impressive than the Red Fort in Delhi
jaipur-016
Monkeys chasing pigeons at Agra Fort. What do they do if they catch one? Eat it?
jaipur-017
Travelled to Jaipur in hopes of less disappointment. Here is the famous Hawa Mahal or Palace of Winds which allowed ladies of the court to watch the comings and going in the city
jaipur-018
It’s almost like a copy/paste job
jaipur-018-01
Inside, coloured windows cast a beautiful light
jaipur-019
From below it’s impressive
jaipur-020
The City Palace in Jaipur is nice to visit but not essential (especially considering the steep 500 rupee entry fee for foreigners)
jaipur-021
This cool guard wanted to have his picture taken; I happily obliged
jaipur-022
The city wall and gates are striking against the hustle and bustle of the streets
jaipur-023
Watched the sunset from high above the city. It’s always fascinating to see the transition of a city from dusk to night and natural light to artificial
jaipur-024
Just outside Jaipur is the imposing Amber Fort
jaipur-025
I was as impressed by the interior as I was by the exterior
jaipur-026
This is a grey langur which unexpectedly (and frighteningly) came out of nowhere, bounded across the table where I was having coffee only a few centimetres from me and scaled the walls and chilled there before returning just as quickly back along the same route as before. Needless to say we all rushed out of the way this time. He was big and he was fast

jaipur-027

Next up: The surprisingly peaceful lakes of Udaipur

Leave a Reply

