The Annapurna Circuit III

Reaching Manang on the circuit is a bit of a milestone; high enough and comfortable enough to take a couple of nights there and also interesting enough that there are several day trips in the area. From there the only way is up…

annapurna-iii_001
The views continue to amaze
annapurna-iii_002
Prayer flags always add vibrance to a landscape that starts to lose colour the higher you go
annapurna-iii_003
Looking back down into the valley you can see the progress made over the past few days
annapurna-iii_004
Not a bad spot to stop for a milk coffee and cinnamon roll
annapurna-iii_005
Buddhist stone inscriptions are found everywhere
annapurna-iii_006
If you ever wanted to see the inside of a Himalayan kitchen here you go! My awkwardness is because the owner grabbed my camera and insisted he take a photo of me

annapurna-iii_007

annapurna-iii_008
I was hiking alone at this point so…selfie time. Yes apparently I now am the type of guy that wears a bandana (it is very practical actually)
annapurna-iii_009
Greeted in Manang
annapurna-iii_010
Although not without some suspicion from the locals
annapurna-iii_011
More of those prayer inscriptions
annapurna-iii_012
After spending a day hiking alone I rejoined my trekking buddies. Here Diana befriends a local dog
annapurna-iii_013
He was in dire need of some TLC
annapurna-iii_014
Himalayan fun and games
annapurna-iii_015
A day hike to acclimatize
annapurna-iii_016
Locals hard at work
annapurna-iii_017
Team Purple Haze Cocktail

annapurna-iii_018

annapurna-iii_019
The small monastery at Milarepa Cave. An ascetic monk lived here and ate only nettles which apparently turned him green
annapurna-iii_020
After a second night in relative luxury in Manang it was time to climb higher. I said goodbye to the team as they were taking a side trek to Tilicho Lake for which I unfortunately didn’t have the time. Here locals spin the prayer wheels
annapurna-iii_021
Prayer wheels can usually be found at the ends of the villages. Some of the wheels themselves are just used tin cans (left versus right) but as long as it spins and contains the prayers inside I guess it’s enough
annapurna-iii_022
Traffic jam
annapurna-iii_023
Great spot to relax over morning coffee
annapurna-iii_024
At this point as the great views were literally behind me so I often stopped, turned round and took photos
annapurna-iii_027
Inside a guesthouse where I stopped for lunch. The stove was not on
annapurna-iii_028
My room in Letdar. Not pictured: the hardest bed ever
annapurna-iii_029
Light fading over Letdar. Once the sun was down it started to get dark but this was the night of the supermoon so darkness didn’t last for long
annapurna-iii_030
I’ve never seen such a strong shadow at night. Always reminds me of Moonshadow by Cat Stevens
annapurna-iii_031
I was hoping that high up at altitude and away from light pollution would allow me to see an amazing amount of stars but then there was a supermoon. Instead I could appreciate the moon illuminating the landscape and the mountains so clearly. That was pretty special

Next up: The Literal and Figurative High Point of the Trek

Leave a Reply

