The Colourful Zhangye Danxia Landform

A quick trip to Zhangye in Gansu province on the way south allowed me to explore these supposedly rainbow rocks. I must say I was whelmed. Rainbow implies a lot though, I only counted 4 colours and actually hues of red and brown is a better description

zhangye01
If you’ve ever wondered what a provincial city in China looks like in the early morning light now you can see
zhangye02
On the way to the landform. Stunning sky during sunrise as snapped from a moving car
zhangye05
So this is the famous Zhangye Danxia Landform. Strata of various hues creates an interesting effect
zhangye06
The desert landscape itself is also interesting, even without colour
zhangye07
More coloured rocks. There are two guys on one motorbike in this picture, maybe that’s interesting to you
zhangye03
Hi mum

 

zhangye08
The colour of the rocks depends so much on the light and therefore the time of day. I tried to reproduce the colours as I saw them…
zhangye09
…but often pictures to entice tourists have the saturation dialled all the way up to look more like this
zhangye10
This is a wild desert landscape that has been tamed and open to mass tourism. I’m sure I would have been more impressed if I was in true wilderness
zhangye04
Back in Zhangye for a quick temple trip…
zhangye11
…to see the largest reclining, clay-clad, wooden-core Buddha in China

Next up: Ancient Xi’an and the Terracotta Warriors

One thought on “The Colourful Zhangye Danxia Landform

  1. What a beautiful, big world… I see things you cannot. And you, you see things I have not seen. Thank you you for showing them to me. You have a talent.
    it’s springtime in Queensland

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

